Work work work 

Having only recently starting to talk to my employers about my Aspergers due to fear of not getting the job due to stereotyping  I thought this week I thought I would write about something that really annoys me, and that is the amount of support there is available when you’re over 18 and in the workplace..

To be blunt there is none, well very little. You’d expect now that Aspergers and Autism is becoming more well known that the would be a strong support network but there isn’t. Besides groups on Facebook there’s nothing when you’re over 18 which I think is more important than having it when you’re in school as you’re out in the big scary wide world. 

I’ve had a mixture of jobs and totally different ranges of support. In one job a high street company that sells what your reading this on (not naming as I really can’t afford a law suit!) I was honest to my manager about having autism and he accused me of making it up having seen no evidence (I’m obviously meant to have it branded on me.. or get a certificate?) perhaps it would read “congratulations you don’t have a normal brain!”  This outraged me.. what would I get out of making it up! Anyway the job from hell ended and I’m back farming.. 

finally someone who bothered to ask about my Aspergers and find out about it! How refreshing! 

I think someone should set up an organisation that goes into the workplace and tells people about it and how your brain works differently as it’s frustrating people not understanding you and how your brain works as it does work so different! 

I’m not normal and I’m proud of it! 

Sorry that it’s a bit early this week.. young farmers club tomorrow!

B x 

Leave a comment